D365 Quick Tip: Delete Records Imported by mistake

One of the most common blunders often made in Data Import are importing whole lot of records without finalizing.

And when you import, you realize you needed to add something more to the Import or some things were pending in the Excel file and you ended up uploading them all!

Delete Imported Records

  1. Assuming your Import was successful and you want to now just revert what all was imported, navigate to Settings > Data Management > Imports.
    importjob
  2. Open the Import job and look for the option under Delete which says ‘All Records Imported to This Entity During This Import
    mainaction
    There, quite self explanatory.
  3. Once you click on it, a Delete Job is triggered once you fill in the below information
    deletejobset
    Important: When I select ‘In addition to deleting imported records, also delete import job history’, it will also delete the Import Job I started in Step #1. If you still want to keep it, you can according to your personal preference.
  4. Now, when you go to Settings > Data Management > Bulk Record Deletion, find the Import you started in the step above.
    deletedrecords
    Note that there are 4 records deleted here though I imported 3 records. The additional record is of the Import Job deleted while setting up the Deletion job in step#3 above.

Hope this quick tip helps! 🙂

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.